A Word of Advice: Just Keep Going

Alicia Roberts
2 min readApr 4, 2021
Photo Credit: Pinterest

Eventually, the feedback quiets down and people keep it moving. I think that’s the moment when as a creative the Universe checks in with us to see how committed we are to our process and the work we imagined. When this happens it’s normal to wonder if what we’re doing matters and if we should keep going.

The answer is yes — KEEP GOING. KEEP CREATING.

No matter what book I read or podcast I listen to on the topic of creativity, purpose, and personal growth, they all emphasize the same thing — CONSISTENCY even when no one is watching. That’s where the growth is and that’s when we get to work out our kinks in the creative process.

When you keep going you build trust and confidence in yourself. When you keep going with or without external feedback or engagement, you prove your worth and value to yourself. And more importantly, you affirm your commitment to your vision and dreams; the outcome you are striving for.

In reflection of my process over the past few months, I wanted to write this post as a simple and matter-of-fact reminder to myself and the one or two people who may read this.

This is also a reminder to myself that my journey, my growth, my expression as a writer, and a creative is for me first and then for others.

It’s about my ability to hear and trust my inner voice and intuition that keeps encouraging me to show up and write. It’s about how being vulnerable with how my words make me feel and how releasing them heals me. It’s about how being vulnerable and authentic might potentially inspire and encourage someone beyond me.

It’s not about being the best writer in the city or the world. It’s not about popularity or perfectionism. It’s about living fully in my power, it’s about activating my voice. It’s about trying every medium available to help me evolve.

So again I say, trust the process. Keep creating, as you are and from where you are. Don’t get caught up worrying about whether the people like it, especially if you know it’s coming from the heart and is crafted with excellence in mind. Let go of the need for external validation. Let go of the need to be perfect. Let the process of creating be a teacher and healer. Stay focused and continue showing up, again and again.

--

--

Alicia Roberts

Reflecting on my creative and wellness journey. Connect with me on IG @destineealicia